Happiest Day of My Life

·

5 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Happiness is all about the beautiful moments in our lives. Mostly, when we achieve something bigger for the first time it becomes happiest moment of our life. We wish not to lose them ever. These are the moments that give us eternal joy and whenever we feel low these memories give us strength.

For me, when I reached at the top of the peak, I always want to summit, was the happiest moment of my life. Being born and raised in Gilgit Baltistan, I grew up seeing lots of mountains in my neighborhoods. Of these small mountains one was very huge among them. In my childhood, it was famous among my friends that we can touch the sky from the highest point of that peak. Which increased my curiosity about the sky. I determined that one day I will go on the top of the peak and will touch the sky.

Starting of this journey was not that easy because my parents were not ready at all to allow me to do so, not until I became 17. I eagerly waited for my 17th birthday, but unfortunately, it comes in the last week of November, when cold get it peak. So, we had to wait for summer.

It was in the mid of summer 2020, shortly after my 12th exam, after showing Intense convection my parents finally allowed me to do so. I started planning for this journey. I convinced some of my friends and took them too for this adventurous journey.

Finally, the most awaited day come. After several weeks of planning the journey finally started at the dawn of 21 July. We took adequate amounts of foods, dry fruits, cooking materials, sleeping bags and tents with us since it was going to be a 5 days journey. I had almost become mad on the night before the journey. I could not sleep well and wake up very early, offered my prayer and started my preparation. I had completed my preparation half an hours before agreed time. So, I went to one of my friend place. He too was very excited and had almost finished his preparation. We two came out and went to the place where we all had to met. In next 15 minutes all other friends also joined us. Our journey begun then. One of my friend, who had already gone there before, started guiding us to the easiest path, as in mountains it becomes very tough to summit if you climb through any arbitrary path.

I used to tell my friends that I will summit this peak in only one day, because it used to seems very near, but now I start realizing that just reaching at the basecamp itself is a very big challenge. We were continually climbing and descending to and from the small peaks and hills until we reach the basecamp. It took us 1.5 days (36 hours). We were very tired. Therefore, we decided to stay the night at the basecamp.

Next day the most anticipated journey started. We did our breakfast and got ready for next move. As it was my first experience of climbing such a mighty mountain my experience was much harsher than I had expected. I had thought as a native it would not become difficult for me to climb, but the reality was that I was getting rest after every 10-15 minutes. The stones which look very hard from down were not capable of holding our weight so, if we keep our foot on them without checking, they would have taken us down with them. The wind was also posing a great danger. It was coming like a river from the top. We still remain persistence. After climbing half of the mountain, it was very scary to look down because firstly it was looking so deep and secondly, we needed to be very careful about our safety as the route was so dangerous, we were fully conscious.

After moving through this dangerous route for almost 6 hours, we were finally reached at the point where we want to be for years. We were over the moon. We thanked God to keep us safe and then we spent more than three hours at the top by playing with stones, making many minarets and cooking food. There was also a big lush green hill with little bit snow on the sides and two beautiful lakes on the back side of the hill. So, we also enjoyed playing some small games there. After that we offered our prayer, ate our lunch, and started our return journey.

Indeed, It was a very special day of life. I can never forget that day. The day was also one of the changing point of my life. I started thinking much differently from that day. It was not possible to point out the biggest house of our village from that top. Compare to those mighty mountains we humans were nothing. It gave me the view, how delicate are we, humans, and I completely understood the verse of the holy Quran “If Allah helps you none shall prevail over you; if He forsakes you then who can help you? It is in Allah that the believers should put their trust”. It was one of the most important day of my life. I am very grateful for the God for that day. He bestowed me with such a beautiful day.